Candles and ornaments

I found myself trying to recreate the scenes and the emotions Of those that played a role in welcoming the little child born called Jesus and saw in my mind’s eye how:

With wondering awe the wise men saw

The star in heaven springing,

And with delight, in peaceful night,

They heard the angel singing:

Hosanna, hosanna, hosanna to His name!

By light of star they traveled far

To seek the lowly manger,

A humble bed wherein was laid

The wondrous little Stranger

I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day

They drew me back to the future as

Their old familiar carols play,

And wild and sweet the words repeat

Of peace on earth, good will to men.

I thought how, as the day had come that this is

The most beautiful time of the year

Lights filling the streets spreading so much cheer

I don’t wanna miss out on the holiday and

Word on the street is that Santa is coming tonight but

I won’t make a list and send it

To the North Pole for Saint Nick

I won’t even stay awake to

Hear those magic reindeer click…

All I want for Christmas is you

Who am I kidding

Santa baby, just slip a sable under the tree for me;

Been an awful good girl, Santa baby

and hurry down the chimney tonight

Santa baby, forgot to mention one little thing, a ring

I don’t mean a phone, Santa baby,

so hurry down the chimney tonight

Dear Mvuli fans and patrons,

Here we are as in olden days,

Happy golden days of yore.

Faithful friends who are dear to us

Gather near to us once more

Through the years We all will be together,

If the Fates allow

Hang a shining star upon the highest bough.

And have yourself A merry little Christmas now.

Have yourself a merry little Christmas,

Let your heart be light

From now on,

our troubles will be out of sight

And God Bless us, everyone

Mashed-up by Maureen Mwangi, a Mvuli Hotels staff member

