Jumping off a cliff 200 feet high is not what many of us may consider “fun”. Well , it can be if you are adventurous in nature. It is one of the truly adrenalin pumping ground activities one can safely engage in.

Bungee  jumping involves jumping from a tall structure while remaining connected to a large elastic cord. The tall structure is usually a fixed object, such as a building, bridge or crane; but it is also possible to jump from a movable object, such as a hot-air-balloon or helicopter, that has the ability to hover above the ground.Here in Kenya, Bungee jumping is popularly done at the banks of the Tana River near Sagana, where one jumps off a 200 feet high, custom build steel tower erected on the banks of the river. The participant has to climb the tower in order to jump, which is an adventure in itself, a perfect way to beat fear of heights.

Bungee Jumping1The thrill in bungee jumping comes from the free-fall and the rebound. When the person jumps, the cord stretches and the jumper flies upwards again as the cord recoils, and continues to oscillate up and down until all the energy is dissipated, though it’s more like the rope transfers the energy into your body, because you will be buzzing for days! It takes up to one week to get over the thrill.Maximum weight of a jumper is restricted to 110 kg and minimum weight 40 kg. If you want to experience the jump with a loved one or maybe u just too scared to do it alone, both of you must have a weight of 105 kg combined.

My experience in bungee jumping was ambivalent at first. The anticipation of the adrenaline pumping through my veins was almost nonexistent compared to the sheer terror of what I was about to do, part of my mind was screaming out to me to turn back while I still could. The instructor was very gentle, and as he fastened the bungee cable on a rope around my ankles, he explained very reassuringly that nothing could go wrong, and this was going to be an unforgettable experience. I barely heard him because at this point I was absolutely terrified, but going back down the ladder was even a more terrifying option. He then opened the gate and said I could jump whenever I was ready.

I Jumped!!!!!

My mind went blank, my eyes closed and in that moment all I could hear was the wind flying past me. Then I let out a blood curling scream as the bungee rope finally caught my ankles. My body jerked, a reaction to shock, I think, of what I just did.

Hanging upside down I opened my eyes to see the river flow. It was completely and utterly silent for minutes until a man came to pull me upright. The other thing I felt through the adrenaline was now triumph; I just conquered my fear of heights. I let out a startled laugh and said AGAIN PLEASE.Looking downwards , I will admit I did think of leaving when I first saw far it seemed .I recall telling my friend  that I should just leave quickly before I die and simply waste the money in order to save my life!Would I do it again? YES! YES! YES!

If you would like to experience the thrill of jumping off a cliff, contact us at reservations@mvulihouse.com and we will make it happen. We can arrange for a day bungee trip for you, or even an overnight camping excursion, which will include bungee jumping, white water rafting, and a bush dinner.

 

